CyclismeGrand Prix Chantal Biya

2017 Cycling tour Chantal Biya: Far from the podium for 4 years, can the Cameroonian riders return to victory?

This is the main question that aroused the ceremony of presentation of the 17th edition of the competition, this August 16, 2017 in Yaoundé the capital. The 17th Chantal Biya International Cycling Grand Prix, which will take place from 11 to 15 October, is full of innovations.

The first innovation is the relocation of the starting and finishing points of the competition. In place of the usual boulevard of the 20th of May in Yaoundé, the cyclists will have for new starting point and arrival the esplanade of the stadium omnisport of the city. The second change of this 17th international cycling Grand Prix Chantal Biya is visible on the first stage of the competition. It will run between Yaoundé and Ayos, a distance of 125 km long.

It is a great first for this locality of the department of Nyong-and-Mfoumou in the region of the center. It integrates for the first time the itinerary of the race. As for the continuation of the competition, it remains unchanged with the usual stages Yaounde-Ebolowa 155.3 km, Zoétélé – Meyomessala 134 km and Sangmélima – Yaoundé 165 km.

For this other edition, the Union Cycliste Internationale has once again appointed the French Jean Pierre Coppenolle as curator of this event scheduled from 11 to 15 October. This is what the project leader François NJELE reveals.

According to the president of the Cameroonian cycling federation Honoré Yossi, 10 teams from Europe and Africa will be on the starting line. Cameroon, which will be represented by its two usual teams (SNH Vélo Club and National Team), intends to do everything possible to return to the podium lost since 2013. Cameroonian riders who are losing almost permanent speed, will this time succeed in keeping the first step? The question remains

Let us recall that this first stage run in the previous edition between Yaounde and Bafia 122.7 kilometers had been won by the Ivorian Issiaka Cissé. Edition of the rest won by the French cyclist Romain Martial.


Par Patrick Hangue

Commentaires Facebook

0 commentaires

Articles similaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

Bouton retour en haut de la page